City of Tampa City Council Redistricting

Learn about the Planning Commission’s redistricting effort for the four, single-member City Council Districts.

The Tampa City Charter, Article VIII, Section 8.03, states the incorporated city shall be redivided by recommendation and with the approval of the Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission, into seven council districts, three of those districts being identical with the territorial boundaries of the city, and four districts being divisions of the entire city, each containing as nearly as possible as equal population, while maintaining the integrity of precinct boundaries.”

The Regular Meeting of the Planning Commission took place on August 14, 2017 at which staff presented information on the redistricting process.

  1. Tampa City Council Redistricting presentation
  2. Fact Sheet on Redistricting


The reference map at the right shows all four, single-member City Council Districts and the City of Tampa precinct boundaries.

The maps below illustrate the alternatives developed by staff for redistricting:

Alternative 1A – This alternative would shift precinct 151 from District 6 to District 4, and precinct 333 from District 5 to District 6.

Alternative 2A – This alternative would shift precinct 161 from District 5 to District 4.

Alternative 3A – This alternative would shift precinct 145 from District 6 to District 4, and precinct 333 from District 5 to District 6.

Alternative 4A – This alternative would shift precinct 133 from District 4 to District 6, precincts 145 and 151 from District 6 to District 4, and precinct 333 from District 5 to District 6.

Population Voting Precinct table (updated 11-15-17) – this sheet shows the demographics of registered voters presently in the four, single-member City Council Districts.  It also provides a breakdown of each redistricting alternative and how the population would be affected.


Public meetings will take place on the dates listed below. Planning Commission, City, and Supervisor of Elections staff will be present to explain the redistricting process and how the alternatives may affect the public.

All meeting times are from 5:00 – 8:00 PM unless otherwise noted

  1. August 21, 2017 (Monday)
    Kate Jackson Community Center at Anderson Park
    821 South Rome Avenue, Tampa
  2. August 28, 2017 (Monday)
    Sulphur Springs Library
    8414 North 13th Street, Tampa
  3. August 30, 2017 (Wednesday)
    Charles Fendig Library
    3909 West Neptune Street, Tampa
  4. August 31, 2017 (Thursday)
    Copeland Park Community Center
    11001 N 15th Street, Tampa
  5. September 5, 2017 (Tuesday)
    Robert Saunders Library
    1505 N Nebraska Avenue, Tampa
  6. September 7, 2017 (Thursday)  CANCELLED DUE to HURRICANE IRMA PREPAREDNESS
    Seminole Heights Library
    4711 N Central Avenue, Tampa
  7. September 18, 2017 (Monday)  CANCELLED DUE to LOCATION CLOSURE
    West Tampa Public Library
    2312 W Union St, Tampa, FL 33607
  8. October 19, 2017 (Thursday) MEETING AT 6:00 PM
    NAACP Hillsborough County Branch
    308 E M.L.K. Jr Blvd, Tampa, FL 33603

For more information on redistricting, contact Terry Eagan at 813-273-3774 x349 or