Presidential papers find home at Planning Commission

The White House, photo by Richard Nowitz

The White House, photo by Richard Nowitz

The Planning Commission Library is now home to a very large collection of Public Papers of the Presidents. These printed volumes are not only physically impressive, but also really fascinating. The following presidents are including in our collection:

  • Herbert Hoover (1929-1933)
  • Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)
  • John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)
  • Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)
  • Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)
  • Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)
  • Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)
  • Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)
  • George H. W. Bush (1989-1993)
  • Bill Clinton (1993-2001)
  • George W. Bush (2001-2009)
  • Barack Obama (2009-present)

The volumes have indices to search verbatim transcripts on what each president said on a particular topic (e.g. the environment, transportation). The collection was inherited from the John F. Germany Library when they no longer needed it as part of their Federal Depository Collection. Look for more exciting news about the Planning Commission Library and its many resources in the next issue of Beyond Today.