Who Are the MPO Board & Committees?

The Hillsborough Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is a transportation policy-making board mandated by federal and state law. The MPO is directly responsible for making sure federal and state dollars spent on existing and future transportation projects and programs are based on a continuing, cooperative and comprehensive transportation planning process. Committed to meaningful public engagement throughout this process, the MPO is responsible for establishing priorities to meet short-term (next 5 years) and long-term (20+ years) multi-modal transportation needs for Tampa, Temple Terrace, Plant City and unincorporated Hillsborough County.

The MPO board and committees are guided by a set of by-laws and certified by the federal government every four years.

For more information on who the MPO is and what it does, see the Joy of Looking Ahead to 2035 – Citizen’s Guide to Transportation Planning, or view FDOT’s Citizens Transportation Academy video on metropolitan planning with Hillsborough MPO Director Beth Alden.

Apply to become a member of an MPO Advisory Committee.

View current presentations being shown to the MPO board & committees.


The MPO is comprised of elected officials and representatives appointed from the local governments and transportation authorities. The current Board consists of 16 voting members:

Commissioner Lesley "Les" Miller
Commissioner Lesley “Les”  Miller
Hillsborough County
Councilman Harry Cohen
Councilman Harry Cohen
City of Tampa
Vice Chair

Commissioner Pat Kemp
Hillsborough County

Commissioner Ken Hagen
Commissioner Ken Hagan
Hillsborough County
Commissioner Mariella Smith
Hillsborough County
Kimberly Overman Hillsborough County
Councilman Guido Maniscalco
City of Tampa
Councilman Luis Viera
City of Tampa
Mayor Mel Jurado
City of Temple Terrace
Mayor Rick Lott
Mayor Rick A. Lott
City of Plant City
Mr. David Mechanik
HART Board of Directors
CEO Joe Lopano
CEO Joe Lopano
Tampa Aviation Authority
Port Director Paul Anderson
Port Director Paul Anderson
Tampa Port Authority
Executive Director Joe Waggoner
Executive Director Joseph Waggoner
Tampa-Hillsborough Expressway Authority
Commissioner Trent Green
Planning Commission
Ms. Cindy Stuart
Hillsborough County School Board