May 2019 – The National Safety Council says cell phone use while driving leads to 1.6 million crashes each year and that one out of every four crashes in the U.S. is caused by texting and driving. Thanks to State Representative Jackie Toledo, who introduced House Bill 107, many lives will now be saved throughout Florida!
Governor Ron DeSantis signed the ban on texting and driving into law on May 17, 2019. Beginning July 1, texting and driving will be a primary offense and grounds to be pulled over. From October 1 until December 31, the use of all cell phones will be banned in active work/construction and school zones unless through Bluetooth technologies. This will be a warning/trial period to educate motorists.
Under current Florida law, motorists can only be issued a citation for texting or otherwise using their phones while driving, if they’re pulled over for other reasons. Fines for the hands-free part of the law will not go into effect until January 1, 2020. Fines will remain the same: A first offense carries a $30 fine, while a second offense carries a $60 fine.